In Memory of my Grandpa

A year ago today, my grandpa passed away unexpectedly. I couldn’t believe it and sometimes it still doesn’t feel real.  I have a lot of good memories of my grandpa such as many harvests we worked together, the tractor lessons and meals around the table. There are so many good things I have learned from him. Duct tape fixes everything. 🙂 Get back on that tractor and keep going. Family is important. These are just a few of the billion things he taught me throughout the years.
I’m a huge reader and I’ve been reading for ages. One of the series I read was Seasons of the Heart by Janette Oke. This series was about a young boy growing up on the farm. Well, I decided one winter that my grandpa needed to read this series. He agreed and read the entire series that winter. I loved hearing about how he enjoyed the book and all the things he could relate to. 🙂  Years passed and I don’t know that I saw him reading much fiction after that. He tended to be more of a newspaper kind of guy.
Whenever I think of Seasons of the Heart, I think of my grandpa. I hope you get a chance to read this wonderful series that will transport you to a simpler time on the farm.  -Becca


About the Books

Seasons of the Heart Book 1. Readers will laugh and cry as they follow the story of Josh Jones, an orphan growing up during the Great Depression. Eighteen-year-old Auntie Lou is the only mother Josh has ever known. When his grandfather and uncle start talking about finding a husband for his aunt, he knows something has to be done As he grows to manhood through disappointment and tragedy, triumph and joy, Josh learns to trust God no matter what life brings.

Once upon a Summer: Amazon * Powell’s Books


On the brink of manhood, Josh’s world is filled with studies and life with Aunt Lou and the menfolk, along with an occasional fishing trip thrown in. When a new teacher arrives, Josh thrives under his encouragement–as well as from the attentions of the teacher’s pretty daughter. Josh faces important questions about life and love and about himself.

The Winds of Autumn: Amazon * Powell’s Books



With schooling behind him, Josh wonders what else life holds. Should he continue his studies and become a pastor? Is he to help his aging grandpa and uncle on the farm? With his friends moving on, Josh feels like his life has drifted to a standstill.

Winter is Not forever: Amazon * Powell’s Books




Josh is in a quandary. Matilda is vivacious and lovely; Mary is sweet and supportive. And they won’t remain single for very long. But how is he to go about courting someone he sees in his kitchen nearly every day? And more importantly, whom does he truly love?

Springs Gentle Promise: Amazon * Powell’s Books




About the Author

Janette Oke writes with a profound simplicity of what she knows best—real life, honest love, and lasting values. Janette Oke pioneered inspirational fiction. Love Comes Softly, her first novel, has sold over one million copies. Janette is now the bestselling author of over 70 books, 32 of which have been translated into fourteen languages. Her books have sold over 22 million copies. Janette and her husband have four grown children and enjoy their many grandchildren. They make their home in Canada.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: